3. Journals related to Human Rights

Selected International Human Rights Journals Selected International Human Rights Journals. Most are OPEN ACCESS, there is a note (PAY to VIEW) next to titles which are not open access

Notes:

1. You can search for individual ARTICLES by the title of the article or author, using GOOGLE SCHOLAR   
2. Some of these journals provide a mix of Open Access and Pay to View articles. Articles are often in PDF and need to be downloaded.
3. The Abstracts are usually Free to read even if you can’t read the article in PAY to VIEW.

• African Human Rights Law Journal
• African Human Rights Law Reports – caselaw reports
• African Journal of Legal Studies (PAY to VIEW)
• Anuario de Derechos Humanos  (PDFs in Spanish)
• Asia-Pacific Journal on Human Rights and the Law  (PAY to VIEW)
• Australian Journal of Human Rights  (PAY to VIEW)
• Buffalo Human Rights Law Review
• Business and Human Rights Journal  
• Canadian Journal of Human Rights
• Columbia Human Rights Law Review
• European Human Rights Law Review  (PAY to VIEW)
• European Human Rights Reports  (PAY to VIEW)
• European Yearbook of Minority Issues  (PAY to VIEW)
• Genocide Studies and Prevention
• Genocide Studies International  (PAY to VIEW)
• Hague Journal on the Rule of Law
• Harvard Civil Rights-Civil Liberties Law Review
• Harvard Human Rights Journal
• Health and Human Rights: An International Journal
• Holocaust and Genocide Studies  (PAY to VIEW or via OUP)
• Human Rights & International Legal Discourse
• Human Rights Brief
• Human Rights Defender  (PAY to VIEW or via HEIN Online)
• Human Rights Law Review
• Human Rights Law Journal  (PAY to VIEW)
• Human Rights Law Review
• Human Rights Magazine (American Bar Association)
• Human Rights Policy Journal
• Human Rights Quarterly  (PAY to VIEW)
• Human Rights Review  (PAY to VIEW)
• Humanity: An International Journal of Human Rights, Humanitarianism, and Development  (PAY to VIEW)
• Indigenous Peoples' Journal of Law, Culture, and Resistance
• Intercultural Human Rights Law Review (2006 -2020)
• International Journal of Children’s Rights (Partially open access)
• International Journal of Cultural Property  (PAY to VIEW)
• International Journal of Discrimination and the Law  (PAY to VIEW)
• The International Journal of Human Rights
• International Journal of Human Rights in Healthcare  (PAY to VIEW)
• International Journal of Refugee Law
• The International Journal of Restorative Justice (PAY to VIEW)
• International Journal of Transitional Justice (PAY to VIEW)
• International Journal on Minority and Group Rights  (PAY to VIEW)
• International Labor Rights Case Law   (PAY to VIEW)
• International Migration Review  (PAY to VIEW)
• International Review of the Red Cross
• International Social Work  (Partially open access)
• ISIL Yearbook of International Humanitarian and Refugee Law  (PAY to VIEW)
• Israel Yearbook on Human Rights  (PAY to VIEW)
• Journal of Civil and Human Rights  (PAY to VIEW)
• Journal of Human Rights (PAY to VIEW)
• Journal of Human Rights and the Environment  (PAY to VIEW)
• Journal of Human Rights Practice  
• The Journal of Human Trafficking  (PAY to VIEW)
• Journal of International Humanitarian Legal Studies
• Journal of Refugee Studies
• Journal of Social Welfare and Human Rights (JSWHR)
• Journal of Southeast Asian Human Rights
• Journal of Trafficking and Human Exploitation
• Journal on Ethnopolitics and Minority Issues in Europe (JEMIE)
• Journal on Migration and Human Security (JMHS)
• Judges Newsletter on International Child Protection
• Law & Ethics of Human Rights (PAY to VIEW)
• Muslim World Journal of Human Rights  (PAY to VIEW)
• Netherlands Quarterly of Human Rights
• Nordic Journal of Human Rights
• Northwestern Journal of International Human Rights
• Religion & Human Rights
• Revue des Droits de l'Homme
• Security and Human Rights
• South African Journal on Human Rights
• SUR - International Journal on Human Rights
• The Transnational Human Rights Review
• University of Miami Inter-American Law Review
• Visegrad Journal on Human Rights
• Yale Human Rights & Development Law Journal
• Yearbook of International Humanitarian Law  (PAY to VIEW)

4. Treaties

International human rights law is treaty based. These treaties are promulgated by international organisations such as the United Nations and its specialised agencies, the Council of Europe, and other organisations. Therefore, locating the necessary instruments is usually the first place to begin research in this area. A good strategy is to begin with the body that promulgated the instrument.

• The Office of the High Commissioner of Human Rights  
   List of Core instruments and their monitoring bodies  
• The United Nations Human Rights Treaties
   This is a searchable database founded in the late 1990s. It retains the historical record, adds self-help links to the UN website for the purpose of updating information after 2011 - with the exception of Jurisprudence. It focuses on providing the historical context for the human rights treaty system. 

International Human Rights Instruments

There are nine core international human rights instruments, often supplemented by optional protocols dealing with specific concerns. Each of these  instruments has established a committee of experts to monitor implementation of the treaty provisions by its State parties. These instruments and committees are:

• International Convention on the Elimination of All Forms of Racial Discrimination (Committee on the Elimination of Racial Discrimination)
• The International Covenant on Civil and Political Rights (Human Rights Committee)
• International Covenant on Economic, Social and Cultural Rights (Committee on Economic, Social and Cultural Rights)
• Convention on the Elimination of All Forms of Discrimination Against Women (Committee on the Elimination of Discrimination against Women)
• Convention Against Torture and Other Cruel, Inhuman or Degrading Treatment or Punishment (Committee against Torture)
• Convention on the Rights of the Child (Committee on the Rights of the Child)
• International Convention on the Protection of the Rights of All Migrant Workers and Members of Their Families (committee on Migrant Workers)
• International Convention for the Protection of All Persons from Enforced Disappearance (Committee on Enforced Disappearances)
• The Convention on the Rights of Persons with Disabilities (Committee on the Rights of Persons with Disabilities).

European Treaties

• European Convention on Human Rights 
   This treaty, formally known as the ‘Convention for the Protection of Human Rights and Fundamental Freedoms’, guarantees core civil and political rights.  All 47 member states of the Council of Europe are state parties to the Convention, but not all state parties have ratified each of its 16 protocols.
    
• Treaty Information: 
   This gateway page provides links to the official texts of the European Convention in English and French, signature and ratification information, declarations and reservations by state parties, preparatory texts, protocols (amendments), and more.
   
• EU Treaties in full text on Eur-Lex 
   Links include preparatory documents, international agreements, and EU legislation summaries

The Americas

• The Organization of American States (OAS)  
   Much of the OAS's work in the field of human rights is accomplished through the drafting of multilateral treaties
• Charter of the Organization of American States (1948)
   Article 5(j) recognizes the "fundamental rights of the individual without distinction as to race, nationality, creed or sex," but it does not define what these fundamental rights are.
• American Declaration of the Rights and Duties of Man (1948)
   Although it was not considered legally binding at the time it was adopted, the Declaration has evolved into a normative instrument which identifies the "fundamental rights" guaranteed by Section 5(j) of the Charter.
• American Convention on Human Rights (1969)
   Chapter II (Articles 3-25) recognizes core civil and political rights.  Chapter I obligates state parties to uphold these rights with respect to all persons, regardless of race, sex or social condition.  Twenty-three of the 35 OAS member states are currently state parties to the Convention.
• Basic Documents of the Inter-American Human Rights System
   Visit this gateway page to access the full texts of all human rights instruments drafted under the auspices of the OAS, information about the ratification status of each instrument, and related documentation.

Africa

•  African Charter on Human and Peoples' Rights    Also known as the Banjul Charter (for the capital of  Gambia in which it was signed), this treaty was adopted by the OAU, the AU's predecessor, in 1981, and entered into force in 1986. 
   
• Directory of African Human Rights Instruments   The African Charter and its protocols, other African human rights treaties, and related soft law instruments.  For information about the ratification status of legally binding instruments, click on the name of the instrument.

5. International Human Rights Mechanisms

The numerous human rights conventions under the framework of the United Nations and the regional systems in Africa, the Americas and Europe have led to the creation of a wide range of mechanisms for monitoring compliance with international human rights laws. These links describe and define many mechanisms.

• International Human Rights Law Instruments  from the UN – OHCHR
• International Human Rights Mechanisms from the UN and discusses these items:  Human Rights Council ; Universal Periodic Review ; Special Procedures ; HRC Mandated Investigations ; HRC subsidiary bodies; Treaty Bodies
• The Major Universal Human Rights Instruments and the Mechanisms for Their Implementation  This is a chapter from a book from OHCHR – “Human Rights in the Administration of Justice: A Manual on Human Rights for Judges, Prosecutors and Lawyers” 
• Enforcing International Law – An article from the American Society of International Law discussing mainly the Security Council’s role.
• Uphold International Law – An overview section from the United Nations on means to settle disputes between states.
• Enforcement mechanisms in the United Nations from a project of NGO The Advocates for Human Rights
• Mechanisms for supervision and remedial action  this is a book on OUP database, you will need to log in to the OUP site to read it.

How does law protect in war?  This is a handbook prepared by the International Committee of the Red Cross and contains links to cases and articles in the bibliographies, a very useful resource. From the introduction:-      “ How does law protect in war? (the "Online Casebook") is an academic platform adapted from the original reference Casebook authored by Marco Sassòli, Antoine Bouvier and Anne Quintin, and published by the ICRC. It is intended to support teaching of international humanitarian law (IHL) in universities in an interactive way, and based on contemporary practice.”